Farmington Community Television is up and Running


Ed Mullen

FARMINGTON - As a result of years of volunteer work and the cooperation of town officials and employees, Farmington Community Television is now up and running on MetroCast Channel 26.

We are now experiencing the delays and confusion of any new enterprise and face a steep, highly technical learning curve as well as equipment limitations, and we hope the community will bear with us.

The purpose of Farmington Community Television is to allow the citizens of Farmington more convenient access to the workings of town government and schools, as well as the activities of the town's many non-profit organizations.

Current programming consists of a Community Bulletin Board and live broadcasts of official board and committee meetings.

The Bulletin Board may be used to announce any government, school, or non- commercial community events. It may not be used to announce commercial events, political campaigning or religious services. The local public access channel, MetroCast Channel 12, is available for those purposes. However, church programs dealing with social or recreational issues are allowed. All events advertised must be open to the general public.

Applications for the Bulletin Board are available at the municipal offices, 41 South Main St.

Live broadcasts of the Board of Selectmen, Planning Board, and Budget Committee meetings will be aired along with many of the other boards and committees.

Appearing and speaking on television can be an unsettling experience for many, and the cooperation of the board members is greatly appreciated.

We hope to broadcast some of the high school ball games and are planning a series of programs on the various town departments to air in 2004.

Please check us out. It's your town and you should know what is going on.

The members of the Farmington cable renewal negotiation team are: Paul Turner (businessman), Jim Taylor (teacher), Kevin Willey (police lieutenant), Dave Hall (selectman) and Chairman Ed Mullen.

The current camera operation roster consists of: George Charette, Richard Kling, Kevin Russell, Derek Gates, Kelsey Tozier, Vicky Smart, Alex Ramsey and Ed Mullen.